LANGUAGE SCIENCES AT CHANDLER HOUSE
UCL Division of Psychology & Language Sciences

Research Students in Language Sciences

Mariam Almihmadi,

in Dept. Linguistics
Address: Chandler House, 2 Wakefield St, London WC1N 1PF.Email: m.almihmadi@ucl.ac.uk
Contrast Neutralisation and the Phonetics-Phonology Interface; Minimal Contrast and Speaker Variation

Hui Cao,

in Dept. Linguistics
Address: Chandler House, 2 Wakefield Street, London WC1N 1PF.Email: hui.cao@ucl.ac.uk
Syntax and interfaces of quantification and indefinites, Chinese syntax,

Eric Carlson,

in Dept. Linguistics
Email: e.carlson@ucl.ac.uk

Chierh Cheng,

in Dept. Speech, Hearing and Phonetic Sciences
Address: Room 326, Chandler House, University College London, Wakefield Street, London WC1N 1PF. Phone: +44 (0) 20 7679 4041 Email: chiacheng.fl86@nctu.edu.tw
Acoustic Features of Tonal Contraction in Mandarin

John Dawson,

in Dept. Speech, Hearing and Phonetic Sciences
Email: john.dawson@ucl.ac.uk
Phonetics of Greek EFL learners.

Felicity Deamer,

in Dept. Linguistics
Address: Chandler House, 2 Wakefield Street, London WC1N 1PF.Email: f.deamer@ucl.ac.uk
Figurative language comprehension, lexical pragmatics, and child development of figurative language compehension abilities.

Tanya Denmark,

PhD, MRes, BSc in Dept. Developmental Science
Address: 49 Gordon Square, London, WC1H 0PD.Email: t.denmark@ucl.ac.uk
Atypical sign language, sign language development and developmental disorders

Mashael Faisal,

PhD in Dept. Language and Communication
Email: m.faisal@ucl.ac.uk
The relationship between communication and quality of life in people with amyotropic lateral sclerosis

Thiago N. Galery,

in Dept. Linguistics
Address: Research Room, 21 Gordon Square. Phone: 07942506329 Email: t.galery@ucl.ac.uk
Linguistic underdeterminacy and the semantics/pragmatics distinction

Dorothea Hackman,

in Dept. Speech, Hearing and Phonetic Sciences
Phone: 07710269195 Email: d.hackman@ucl.ac.uk
Impact of first language on the acquisition of English intonation by adult refugees in London

Axiotis Kechagias,

in Dept. Linguistics
Address: Chandler House, 2 Wakefield Street, London WC1N 1PF. Phone: 07957696182 Email: axiotis@ling.ucl.ac.uk
Syntax & Interfaces, especially the Information Component, Discourse Functions, Scrambling--Flexible Syntax, Antisymmetry and Linear Effects

Joe-Eun Kim,

in Dept. Speech, Hearing and Phonetic Sciences
Email: joe.kim@ucl.ac.uk

Young Shin Kim,

in Dept. Speech, Hearing and Phonetic Sciences
Address: Room 326, Chandler House, University College London, Wakefield Street, London WC1N 1PF. Phone: +44 (0) 20 7679 4041

Patricia Kolaiti,

in Dept. Linguistics

Leela Koran,

in Dept. Language and Communication
Email: l.koran@ucl.ac.uk

Barbara Loveridge,

in Dept. Speech, Hearing and Phonetic Sciences
Email: b.loveridge@ucl.ac.uk

Katharine Mair,

MA, MRes, BA, BSc in Dept. Speech, Hearing and Phonetic Sciences
Address: Room 326, Chandler House, UCL, Wakefield Street, London. WC1N 2PF. Phone: + 44 (0) 20 7669 4041 Email: k.mair@ucl.ac.uk
Research area: Auditory perception in autistic spectrum disorders

Rebecca Matthews,

ASLTIP, MSc, BSc
Address: Silchester,Reading, Berks, RG7 2PG.. Phone: 0118 9700300 Email: sslyram@ucl.ac.uk
Using video-conferencing to provide Speech & Language Therapy. Also laterality as a predictor for speech & language prognosis

Mo McCartney ,

MSc, BSc (Hons) in Dept. Language and Communication
Phone: 07872112323 Email: m.mccartney@ucl.ac.uk
Dysphagia, dementia and training programmes for health care assistants.

Georgina Oliver,

in Dept. Speech, Hearing and Phonetic Sciences

Jin Kyu Park,

in Dept. Speech, Hearing and Phonetic Sciences
Address: Room 326, Chandler House, University College London, Wakefield Street, London WC1N 1PF. Phone: 0795 122 3226 Email: jin.k.park@ucl.ac.uk
HMM-Based Speech Synthesis

Neil Parr,

in Dept. Linguistics
Email: n.parr@ucl.ac.uk
Relationship between early language acquisition and pragmatic features of adult communication

Yasna Pereira Reyes ,

in Dept. Speech, Hearing and Phonetic Sciences

Joy Philip,

in Dept. Linguistics
Email: j.philip@ucl.ac.uk
Linkers, DP-syntax, morphosyntactic marking of dependencies

Anna Pollard,

in Dept. Linguistics
Email: a.pollard@ucl.ac.uk
Speaker-Addressee interaction and Relevance Theory

Melanie Preece-Pinet,

Student in Dept. Speech, Hearing and Phonetic Sciences
Address: Room 326, Chandler House, University College London, Wakefield Street, London WC1N 1PF. Phone: +44 (0) 20 7679 4041 Email: m.pinet@ucl.ac.uk
L2 Speech perception

Matthew Reeve,

in Dept. Linguistics
Email: m.reeve@ucl.ac.uk
The syntax, semantics and information structure of clefts, copular sentences and relative clauses

Anna Remington,

MSc, BA in Dept. Developmental Science
Address: Room 202, Chandler House, 2 Wakefield Street, London WC1N 1PF .Email: a.remington@ucl.ac.uk
Selective attention within autistic spectrum disorder.

Susanne Rosenberger,

MRes, Speech and Language therapist in Dept. Developmental Science
Address: Room 430, Department of Psychology, 26, Bedford Way, London WC1H 0AP .Email: s.rosenberger@ucl.ac.uk
Fluency disorders in children and adolescents

Dong-jin Shin,

in Dept. Speech, Hearing and Phonetic Sciences

Marisa Silveira,

in Dept. Linguistics
Address: Remax House Room 501.Email: m.silveira@ucl.ac.uk
Language Acquisition & Language Disorders

Ye Tian,

in Dept. Linguistics
Address: PhD Room, 1st Floor, Chandler House, University College London, 2 Wakefield Street. London.. Phone: 07942 756 326 Email: y.tian@ucl.ac.uk
Experimental Pragmatics

Elena Titov,

in Dept. Linguistics
Email: e.titov@ucl.ac.uk
Focus and syntactic structure

Nikolaos Velegrakis,

in Dept. Linguistics
Phone: 07785794597 Email: n.velegrakis@ucl.ac.uk
Syntax; the DP-internal structure; syntactic typology.

Chetan Vyas,

in Dept. Language and Communication
Email: c.vyas@ucl.ac.uk

Mark Wibrow,

in Dept. Speech, Hearing and Phonetic Sciences

Wing Li Wu,

Cert(ES)TESOL, MPhil, MA, BA in Dept. Speech, Hearing and Phonetic Sciences
Address: Room 326, Chandler House, University College London, Wakefield Street, London WC1N 1PF. Phone: +44 (0) 20 7679 4041 Email: wl.wu@ucl.ac.uk
Cantonese phonetics; tone and intonation

Beata Zacharska,

in Dept. Linguistics
Address: Chandler House, 2 Wakefield Street, London WC1N 1PF.Email: beata.zacharska@ucl.ac.uk
Definiteness and Reference