celebrated 125 years since the first publication of the International Phonetic Alphabet in 2013

Conferences (ICPhS) and Permanent Council for the Organisation of ICPhS


The International Congress of Phonetic Sciences (ICPhS) takes place every four years. To date, seventeen congresses have been held at the following locations:

The 18th ICPhS will be held in Glasgow in 2015.


Permanent Council for the Organisation of the International Congress of Phonetic Science

It is the function of the Permanent Council to safeguard the highest scientific standards in Phonetic Science. In fulfilling this goal it carries out two main tasks:

  1. it arranges for International Congresses of Phonetic Science by deciding the place, and appointing for each Congress an organization capable of assuming complete responsibility for that Congress in cooperation with the Permanent Council;
  2. it provides continuity between Congresses in an advisory capacity to the organizers of each Congress and in establishing relations with other scientific organizations in the field.


News items from the Permanent Council for the Organisation of ICPhS

Click here for news items from the Permanent Council for the Organisation of ICPhS.


The Executive of the Permanent Council for the Organisation of the International Congress of Phonetic Science, who will serve from 2011 to 2015, comprises:-

President Katerina Nicolaidis
tel: + 30 2310 997429
fax: + 30 2310 997432
Department of Theoretical and Applied Linguistics
School of English
Aristotle University of Thessaloniki
Thessaloniki 54124
Vice-President Eric Zee
tel: + 852 3442 7594
fax: + 852 3442 0359
Department of Chinese, Translation and Linguistics
City University of Hong Kong
B7704, 7/F, Blue Zone, Lift 3, Academic 1
83, Tat Chee Avenue
Kowloon, Hong Kong SAR
Secretary Maria-Josep Solé
tel: + 34 93 2048444
fax: + 34 93 581 2001
Department of English Philology
Universitat Autònoma de Barcelona
08193 Bellaterra


The full list of Permanent Council members for 2011-2015 is:

(click on the name to contact the member)
(click on the place to get to the member's page)
Michael G. Ashby London, UK
Mary Beckman Columbus, OH, US
Anne Cutler Nijmegen, The Netherlands
John H. Esling Victoria, Canada
Cécile Fougeron Paris, France
Björn Granström Stockholm, Sweden
Nina Grønnum Copenhagen, Denmark
William J. Hardcastle Edinburgh, UK
John D. M. H. Laver Edinburgh, UK
Ian Maddieson Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
João Antônio de Moraes Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Ailbhe Ni Chasaide Dublin, Ireland
Francis J. Nolan Cambridge, UK
John J. Ohala Berkeley, USA
Louis Pols Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Daniel Recasens Barcelona, Spain
Justus Roux Potchefstroom, South Africa
Yoshinori Sagisaka Tokyo, Japan
Linda Shockey Reading, UK
Jane Stuart Smith Glasgow, UK
Jacqueline Vaissière Paris, France
John C. Wells London, UK

Inquiries may be addressed to the Secretary of the Permanent Council for the Organisation of ICPhS.

For the By-Laws of the Permanent Council for the Organization of ICPhS, click here.

Go to top